The 2017 Martha Hill Awards Gala

On Monday November 20th at 6pm, the Martha Hill Awards Gala will once again be held at the Manhattan Penthouse in New York City. This year the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are Alice Teirstein and Norton Owen and the 2017 Mid-Career Award recipients are Denise Roberts Hurlin and Robert Garland




Alice Teirstein, MA, has been choreographing, performing, and teaching dance in New York since the early 1970's. She is Founding Director of Young Dancemakers Company, a tuition-free company of NYC teens, now entering its 23rd season, presenting free, touring concerts of original student choreography throughout NYC. Ms Teirstein designed and directed the dance curriculum for grades 7-12 at the Fieldston School, where she served on the faculty for over 30 years. She initiated the dance program's Dance Out Project, bringing her students into the city's homeless shelters, leading dance workshops for which she received an award from the City of NY Human Resources Administration. She designed and led the decade-long Fieldston Summer Performing Arts Institute. in the1980's. Her awards include a 2012 "Bessie" and 2015 Lifetime Achievement Awards from the NY State Dance Education Association and from the American Dance Guild.

Ms. Teirstein will be presented by Joan Finkelstein.


Norton Owen BW__Headshot by David Dashiell_Small.jpg

Norton Owen has been associated with Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival since 1976 and has been Director of Preservation since 1990. He is a key member of the team that produces Virtual Pillow, an online engagement effort that reaches audiences worldwide. Previous awards received are from Dance Films Association, Dance USA and the José Limón Dance Foundation.

Mr. Owen will be presented by Deborah Jowitt.

Denise HeadshotBW_Small.jpg

Denise Roberts Hurlin graduated from the Conservatory of Dance at Purchase College with a BFA in Dance. As a dancer, she was a founding member of Parsons Dance and performed for six years with the Paul Taylor Dance Company where she danced many lead roles. In 1991, she and Hernando Cortez co-founded Dancers Responding to AIDS. She continues to lead the program's efforts to provide a safety net for the dance community. She is also an inaugural member of the advisory council for The Dancers’ Resource, a program of The Actors Fund founded by Bebe Neuwirth.

Ms. Hurlin will be presented by Jodi Melnick.


Robert Garland was a principal dancer with the Dance Theatre of Harlem. Arthur Mitchell invited him to create a work for The Dance Theatre of Harlem Company and upon his retirement from the stage, he was appointed the organization’s first Resident Choreographer. He has created works for the Dance Theatre of Harlem Company and their School Ensemble as well as for New York City Ballet, The Royal Ballet, and Oakland Ballet, among many others. His commercial work has included music videos, commercials and short films.

Mr. Garland will be presented by Theresa Howard.




(A late fee will be incurred after November 14th)


All sales will close on November 17th at 7pm



**********   If you would like to     **********

advertise your organization

in our program

**********    click here    **********





(in formation)


Golden Benefactors

Jody & John Arnhold        Jerry Bywaters Cochran    

Ann Hutchinson Guest       Dr. Allen Maniker      Victoria Phillips




       Lynn Garafola     




Neil Baldwin     Andra Corvino     Ernesta Corvino

Daniel Lewis    Peggy Lyman    Arthur Mitchell

Jeanne Ruddy     Vernon Scott     Megan Williams

Ani Udovicki



Sponsors for Students

Ernesta Corvino     Dance Theater of Harlem

Allen Maniker    Vernon Scott    Lance Westergard





Honorary Committee 

(in formation)


Jody and John Arnhold   Arthur Aviles    Anna Glass    Marcelo Gomes

Virginia Johnson    Sali-Ann Kriegsman    Joe Lanteri    Sara Mearns    

Art Bridgman and Myrna Packer    Melanie Person    John Mario Sevilla    

Pamela Tatge    Liz Thompson    Heather Watts  Norman Walker  

Sharon Williams-Duncan    Damian Woetzel