top of page

The 2014 Martha Hill Awards Gala
Martha Myers and Mary Hinkson

It was with great sadness that we had to bid farewell to Mary Hinkson who took her departure the day after she was celebrated.

We were heartened to know that although Mary was not well enough to attend the Gala, she heard all about it from her beautiful family and was reminded how much she is loved and respected.


Rest in Peace, Mary and Dance with the Angels


Mary's granddaughter, Elsa Hardy accepted the award for her


Use the link below to view her acceptance

Click here for video

Lifetime Achievement Awardees


Born in Philadelphia, Mary Hinkson (1930 - 2014) received her first dance training in a eurhythmics class in high school. She then studied dance with Margaret H'Doubler at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, receiving both her B.S. (1946) and M.S. (1947) degrees in physical education. After graduating, Hinkson moved to New York City where she joined the Martha Graham Dance Company in 1951. She remained a principal dancer until 1973. Martha Graham choreographed several roles for Ms. Hinkson, including those in Canticle for Innocent Comedians (1952), Ardent Song (1955), and Circe (1963). In addition to her work with Graham, Hinkson created the female role in Donald McKayle's Rainbow 'Round My Shoulder (1959) and danced as a guest artist with the New York City Ballet in George Balanchine's Figure in the Carpet (1960). In 1956, she was Alvin Ailey’s partner in Harry Belafonte's touring revue Sing Man Sing. A much-loved and influential teacher, Ms. Hinkson taught at the Martha Graham School for decades as well as at the Juilliard School, NYC's High School of Performing Arts, the Dance Theater of Harlem School, and the Ailey School among many other places. Ms. Hinkson is known for having broken racial boundaries throughout her career in both ballet and modern dance.


American Dance Festival Dean Emeritus Martha Myers has been a teacher, dancer, choreographer, film producer, television personality, and writer. She served as the Director of Women’s News for WBNS-TC in Columbus, Ohio, and was co-producer, writer and narrator for a collection of programs called “A Time to Dance” which were extensively used for dance courses in colleges and universities. Ms. Myers joined the dance faculty at Connecticut College in 1967, founded its dance department in 1971, and led the department until 1992. One of her first important moves at Connecticut College (which was all-women when she joined the faculty) was to gather some men from Wesleyan University to join female students in her new ground-breaking initiative The Experimental Movement Lab which focused on improvisation and the idea of “play” through movement. In 1969, she was named Dean of the American Dance Festival School, where she pioneered the study of dance medicine and somatics as well as mentoring literally thousands of dancers. She retired from ADF in 2000. In 2002, she received the Balasaraswati/Joy Ann Dewey Beinecke Endowed Chair for Distinguished Teaching. Ms Myers received an undergraduate degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and an M.S. from Smith College.

The Mid-Career Award


John-Mario Sevilla, director of the 92nd Street Y Harkness Dance Center, hails from Ka'ehu, Maui. He also teaches at New York University Steinhardt. He was the Director of 92Y Dance Education Laboratory (DEL) and the Education Department at New York City Ballet. John-Mario has danced in the companies of Pilobolus (dance captain), Rebecca Stenn, From the Horse’s Mouth, Daman Harun, Erin Dudley, Lisa Giobbi, Nikolais and Louis, Shapiro and Smith, Janis Brenner, Anna Sokolow and Bill Cratty. John-Mario also performed with juggler Michael Moschen, film animator Laura Margulies, drag artist Sherry Vine, poet John Unterecker and Navajo sandpainter-healer Walking Thunder. John-Mario’s choreography has appeared in New York City at LaMaMa, NYU Steinhardt, Movement Research at Judson Church, 92Y Tribeca, Dance Theatre Workshop, Columbia University, ABC No Rio, the Lower East Side Tenement Museum, The Asia Society, Bronx Academy of Art and Dance, as well as at universities throughout the country. John-Mario is dance student of Betty Jones and a student of the hula with Hōkūlani Holt of Pā‘ū O Hi‘iaka and June Kaililani Tanoue. He has an MA in Dance and Dance Education from Teachers College, Columbia University, and an MFA in Dance Performance from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

The Young Professional Award


Danielle Reinstein was raised in Sudbury, Massachusetts where she trained at Massachusetts Ballet Theatre. She is currently a student of the Ailey/Fordham BFA Program under the direction of Melanie Person. At The Ailey School she has performed repertory works by Jessica Lang, Norbert De La Cruz III, Alexandre Proia, Darshan Bhuller, Hope Boykin, and more. Additionally, Danielle has had the opportunity to perform Alvin Ailey's Memoria with Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater and Karole Armitage's Rave with Armitage Gone! Dance. She has participated in several summer intensives studying at programs including Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Atlanta Ballet, The Ailey School, Nashville Ballet, Complexions Contemporary Ballet, and most recently, The School at Jacobs Pillow Contemporary Program. Danielle will graduate from The Ailey School and Fordham University in May 2015 with a BFA in Dance and a minor in Business Administration as a member of the national honor society, Alpha Sigma Nu.

2014 Gala Photos

Gala Photos by Steven Speliotis

Gala Committee
Henning Rübsam, Chair
Rebecca Stenn & Megan Williams, Co-Vice Chairs

Honorary Committee

Dr. Miriam Roskin Berger

Cordelia Hinkson Brown

Alison Chase

Jacques D'Amboise

Laura Delano

Carmen de Lavallade

Valerie T. Diker

Irene Dowd

Martha Eddy

Janet Eilber

Garth Fagan

Ara Fitzgerald

Betty Jones & Fritz Ludin

Linda Hodes

Hokulani Holt

Gerri Houlihan

Yuriko Kikuchi

Alonzo King

Susan Mandle

Carla Maxwell

Susan McGuire

Arthur Mitchell

Marika Molnar

Jim Nelson

Jodee Nimrichter

Charles Reinhart

Martha Swope

Paul Taylor

Catherine Tharin

Jaclynn Villamil

Sylvia Waters

Platinum Table
Dr. Allen Maniker     Victoria Philips

Golden Benefactors

Jody & John Arnhold

Jerry Bywaters Cochran     The Janis & Alan Menken Foundation


Ann Hutchinson Guest      Yuriko Kikuchi     Arthur Mitchell

Elizabeth Radke      Jeanne Ruddy



Laura Colby     Dawn Lille     Lawrence Reed Hansen

Peggy Lyman Hayes     Virginia Johnson     Lawrence Rhodes

Vernon Scott     Allegra Fuller Snyder     Risa Steinberg

Alice Teirstein     Andrew Wentink     Megan Williams

Sponsors For Students

Nancy Bannon     Evelyn S. Boudon     Margot Mink Colbert

Toni Lacativa Farkas     Beth & David Hoge     Joan Finkelstein

Patricia K. Knowles     Ronald J. Lehman     Clifton & Patricia McPherson

Shirley Roby     Joan Woodbury

bottom of page